[Tomita Logo]

[Tomita's Greatest Hits]

Album Details · Images · Sleeve Notes

The first 'Greatest Hits' collection of an eventual five (!), this release is notable for the inclusion of the full 3:38 version of 'Star Wars', which doesn't appear anywhere else. It includes a snatch of the 'other' famous Star Wars theme, and pre-sampler-era sounds of saucepan lips being dropped on a stone floor as a finale. And then there's that proto-acid bassline...

A CD reissue was released in 1986, and greatly expands on the content of the original album in the light of 'Daphnis et Chloé' and the subsequent two studio albums. Some of the tracks on this CD were included on the earlier LP release 'A Voyage Through His Greatest Hits' ('Voyage' in Japan) which was released as Vol. 2 of the original 'Greatest Hits' LP collection.

Album Details

Top of the Page

Catalogue Number
RCL-8044 / RCALP 3037 / RL 43076 / ARL1-3439 (LP)
RCAK 3037 / RCA 3439 (Cassette)
RCAV 5660 / RCA 5660 / 5660-2-RC (CD)


Date Released
February, 1980

Total Playing Time
70:19 (CD)

  1. "Star Wars" Main Title Music <Williams>
  2. Clair de Lune [235k MP3] [Suite Bergamasque No. 3] <Debussy>
  3. Close Encounters of the Third Kind <Williams>
  4. Golliwog's Cakewalk [Children's Corner Suite No. 6] <Debussy>
  5. Firebird: Infernal Dance of King Kastchei <Stravinsky>
  6. Space Fantasy [from Also Sprach Zarathustra] <Strauss>
  7. Hora Staccato <Dinicu>
  8. Symphony No. 5: Second Movement <Prokofiev>
  9. Snowflakes are Dancing [Children's Corner Suite No. 4] <Debussy>
  10. Pictures at an Exhibition: The Great Gate of Kiev <Mussorgsky>

  1. Also Sprach Zarathustra: Fanfare <Strauss> (1:58)
  2. Grand Canyon Suite: On the Trail <Grofé> (7:07)
  3. The Pachelbel Canon (5:47)
  4. Syncopated Clock <Anderson> (2:27)
  5. Boléro [235k MP3] <Ravel> (9:15)
  6. "Star Wars" Main Title <Williams> (3:04)
  7. Clair de Lune [235k MP3] [from Suite Bergamasque] <Debussy> (5:48)
  8. Close Encounters of the Third Kind <Williams> (3:42)
  9. Symphony No. 5: 2nd Movement [Allegro Marcato] <Prokofiev> (2:51)
  10. Golliwog's Cakewalk [from Children's Corner] <Debussy> (2:51)
  11. Firebird: Infernal Dance of King Kastchei [235k MP3] <Stravinsky> (4:21)
  12. Hora Staccato <Dinicu-Heifetz> (3:29)
  13. The Planets: Mars, the Bringer of War <Holst> (7:48)
  14. Pictures at an Exhibition: The Great Gate of Kiev <Mussorgsky> (6:31)


Top of the Page

[Tomita's Greatest Hits]
[Tomita's Greatest Hits]

Sleeve Notes

Top of the Page

Electronically Created by Isao Tomita
Art Director: J.J. Stelmach
Cover Illustration: John Rush

[Up Button]
Back to Main Index

Biography · Images · Recordings · Concerts · Sounds · Sound Creature · Technology · Links