[Tomita Logo]

[Bach Fantasy]

Album Details · Images · Sleeve Notes

The new CD from Tomita titled 'Bach Fantasy' has been released in Japan. Carlos' 'Switched-On Bach' was an inspiration to Tomita's earlier works.

Many of Tomita's distinctive sounds are to be found on the album, and it also features female and other talking voices, with many great string sounds. Tomita says that almost all the sounds were produced using a Moog III and a Moog 55. He saved these sounds to a hard disk drive and, except for a few other sounds, played mostly using sampling keyboards.

'Bach Fantasy' came out almost a month earlier than expected in Japan. This album was released as an enhanced multimedia CD which features:

This interactive CD is designed to run on Macintosh PowerPCs and PCs with Windows 95. However, as the album was only released in Japan and not originally intended for release in English-speaking countries, those who import it from Japan may experience some problems trying to get it to run on their English versions of Windows 95. It is necessary to get a copy of the two application extension files WINNLS.DLL and IMM.DLL and put them in your C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM directory. Thanks to Ken Terao for his help with this.

Album Details

Top of the Page

Catalogue Number
BVZC-601 / 74321-37657-2 (CD)

BMG (Japan)

Date Released
21 June, 1996

Total Playing Time

  1. Early Bird [Cantata "Was Mir Behagt, Ist Nur die Muntre Jagd!" BWV 208: Aria] (3:24)
  2. Ave Maria [Well-Tempered Clavier Book 1: No. 1 in C, Gounod] (5:09)
  3. March of the Mobile Toy Soldiers [Cantata "Jesu, Der Du Meine Seele" BWV 78: Aria Duetto] (5:03)
  4. Fantasy of the Clock [Cantata "Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns die Stimme" BWV 140: Chorale] (4:03)
  5. Jesus, Joy of Man's Desiring [Cantata "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben" BWV 147: Chorale] (3:32)
  6. The Sea Named "Solaris" [Based on Sinfonia No. 2 in C Minor BWV 788 and Chorale "Ich Ruf' Zi Dir, Herr Jesu Christ" BWV 639] (12:14)
  7. Whistling Boy [Invention No. 13 in A Minor BWV 784] (2:56)
  8. Storm in the Desert [Cantata "Schwingt Freudig Euch Empor" BWV 36: Chorale] (4:33)
  9. Air on a G-String [Orchestra Suite No. 3 in D BWV 1068: Aria] (3:50)
  10. Toccata and Fugue [Toccata and Fugue in D Minor BWV 565] (7:39)


Top of the Page

[Bach Fantasy]
[Front View]

Sleeve Notes

Top of the Page

Isao Tomita, Synthesizer
Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach
Arranged, Computer-Programmed, Recorded, and Mix-Down by Isao Tomita
Recorded 1995-1996
Design: Nakagawa Takeshi (Nakagawa Design Office)

[Up Button]
Back to Main Index

Biography · Images · Recordings · Concerts · Sounds · Sound Creature · Technology · Links